Emo Court and Gardens is a short 17-minute drive from Maldron Hotel Portlaoise and is situated in the picturesque village of Emo just off the M7. This house is best described as a neoclassical mansion, symmetrical in design with superbly designed rooms. It was designed by architect James Ganon in 1790 for John Dawson the Earl of Portarlington.
In 1914 the Earls of Portarlington left for England and the house was closed up for many years before being sold to the Irish Land Commission. It is now run by the Office of Public Works who continues to preserve the house to ensure that Emo Court is an enjoyable experience for its visitors. The gardens extend to 35 hectares of landscaped grounds with Oak, Beech, rare specimen trees and a 20-acre lake.
In 2013 the walk around the lake was completed so you can now walk around the full lake. It is also advisable to bring a picnic basket in the summer. Access to the house is by guided tours only. We have negotiated reduced rates in the hotel, please ask at reception for details. We also offer family packages to include a tour to Emo Court.