Emo Court and Gardens
Emo Court and Gardens is a short 10 minute drive from Maldron Hotel Portlaoise and is situated in the picturesque village of Emo just off the M7. This house is best described as a neo classical mansion, symmetrical in design with superbly designed rooms. It was designed by architect James Ganon in 1790 for John Dawson the Earl of Portarlington.
In 1914 the Earls of Portarlington left for England and the house was closed up for many years before been sold to the Irish land Commission. Mr Cholmeley- Harrison purchased the house in 1960 and had it restored to its original glory under the direction of Sir Albert Richardson. In 1994 the house was presented to Mary Robinson, then president of Ireland, who accepted this stately home of behalf of the people of Ireland. It is now run by the Office of Public Works who continues to preserve the house to ensure that Emo Court is an enjoyable experience for its visitors. The gardens extend to 35 hectares of landscaped grounds with Oak, Beech, rare specimen trees and a 20 acre lake.
In 2013 the walk around the lake was completed so you can now walk around the full lake. It is also advisable to bring a picnic basket in the summer. Access to the house is by guided tours only. We have negotiated reduced rates in the hotel, please ask at reception for details. We also offer family packages to include a tour to Emo Court. Click on our family packages below to have a look.
Emo, Co Laois Tel: + 353 57 862 6573 Email: firstname.lastname@example.org